3-2-1 Done!

19 Jun

Do you ever integrate interval training into your workout routines? Intervals burn more calories than normal workouts and are a great way for runners to increase speed. One of my favorite interval routines is called 3-2-1. I did 5 miles of these intervals yesterday and it really works up a sweat! Here’s how you do it:

  • Warm up for 5 minutes at a jog. I set the treadmill to 6.5 mph for 5 minutes.
  • Then, run at a comfortable pace for 3 minutes. I run at 7 mph.
  • For the next 2 minutes, up your speed a little bit. I run at 7.5 mph.
  • Then sprint for 1 minute. I sprint at 9 mph.
  • Repeat! For at least 30 minutes.

I have been doing interval training for a couple of years and have seen my speed increase so much as a result. I used to run an average 10 minute mile and now I’m comfortable at closer to an 8:30 mile pace, thanks to interval training! Has anyone else had good results doing interval training?

2 Responses to “3-2-1 Done!”

  1. Amanda (@SemiHealthNut) June 19, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    Wow that blows my mind you sprint at 9mph. I honestly don’t think I’ve run that fast on a treadmill!

    I will probably be doing some interval runs this week at a hotel…hanging out with Dave at the Nebraska State Shoot. 🙂

    • aprilchristenson June 19, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

      I could not always sprint at 9 mph! I think when I started doing those I sprinted at 8 mph. It amazes me how much faster you can get doing those!!

      That sounds fun! Let’s get together soon! I feel like it has been ages since I’ve seen either of you two.

Leave a Reply

