Marathon Week!

16 May

Well friends, it’s almost here! I will be running the Fargo Marathon this Saturday! I am very excited and a little nervous. Some thoughts on the week …

Tapering is tough! I’m nervous and my reaction is to keep running as much as I was before to reassure myself that I will do well and all my training will pay off. That is a bad move though! It’s best to rest this week and let my body recover. Your body won’t lose fitness during the 3 weeks that you are tapering, so there’s really nothing to worry about. Still, it’s tough to sit back and wait for the day!

I’ve been spending a lot of time trying to mentally prepare and prepare my body. I’m trying to make sure I go into the race extremely well hydrated so I’ve been drinking lots of water and trying to avoid things that will dehydrate my body like caffeine and alcohol. Also, what you eat leading up to the marathon is important. In the days before the marathon you should be consuming about 65%-70% of your calories in carbohydrates. This is weird for me because although I do enjoy carbs, I’m used to eating a lot less than that. I’m not eating any more than usual, but instead of a smoothie for breakfast I’ll have toast with pb&j or hummus. At lunch, instead of a salad or wrap I’ll opt for a sandwich with lean protein and lots of veg. Just trying to make little substitutions so I am getting enough carbs this week.

I’ve also been making many lists of what I’ll need for the race. Below is my race list:

  • running tank top
  • running shorts
  • running shoes
  • socks
  • sports bra
  • gels
  • ibuprofen (a must, sadly)
  • bagel and pb&j for breakfast Saturday morning
  • sunglasses
  • sunscreen
  • gatorade
  • safety pins (to pin my bib on)
  • pepto/tums (for after …. my stomach does not always fare well after long runs)
  • chapstick
  • race bib!

Runners, can you think of anything I’m forgetting for race day? I’m packing other things for the weekend, but this is my race list only.

This morning was very exciting because I received an email with my bib number! Lucky #331! Wish me luck!

One Response to “Marathon Week!”

  1. Amanda (@SemiHealthNut) May 18, 2012 at 4:04 am #

    Good luck April!! You will do great!! My carb-loading is just pasta lol

Leave a Reply

