Taper territory

9 May

I’m officially in taper territory! My marathon is next Saturday (May 19) in Fargo, ND. The last two weeks of marathon training are generally time to taper off your training. I have 3 short runs this week and an 8 miler on Saturday. Today I ran 4 miles on the treadmill at the gym at about an 8 minute mile pace. I ran most of the 4 miles at 7.5 mph on the treadmill, speeding up to 8 or 8.5 mph at times and down to 7.2 when I was getting tired out. My marathon goal is 4 hours or a 9 minute mile pace. Getting anxious!

After running I did a 30 minute upper body workout, using both machines and free weights.

Dinner was an easy one to throw together! I discovered this baked chicken parmesan recipe on Iowa Girl Eats a while back. I LOVE it. Confession: I used to make chicken and eggplant parmesan the traditional way, aka dredging in flour/egg mixture and frying. I love this easy alternative that’s so much healthier!

What you will need:

  • Chicken breasts – I used Trader Joe’s free range chicken breast tenders (4)
  • Store-bought pasta sauce – I also used Trader Joe’s marinara
  • Pasta
  • Mozzarella cheese

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Place chicken in an oven proof dish and cover with pasta sauce. Sprinkle mozzarella on top. Put foil over dish. Cook for 20 minutes. Remove foil and cook an additional 10 minutes, until cheese is bubbly. Remove from oven and allow to cool.

While chicken is cooking, bring water to a boil. When water is boiling, add salt and olive oil. Add pasta and cook for 10 minutes or until done.

So easy right?! And delicious! I had a salad alongside, with spinach, tomato, red onion, blue cheese, olive oil, s & p.

Tomorrow I have a 3 mile run on schedule but I’m anxious and in a running mood so I’m thinking it’s gonna be more than that! Talk to ya tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

