Vegetarian Lettuce Wraps

28 Feb

One of my favorite sushi restaurants has these AMAZING vegetarian lettuce wraps. When I think vegetarian lettuce wraps I picture something resembling the standard chicken lettuce wraps with some kind of meat substitute like tofu in place of the ground chicken (and, in fact, I googled it and found pretty much the same thing all across the interwebs).  That’s perfectly fine (this lady loves tofu), but the thing that sets these veggie lettuce wraps apart is that there is nothing in them that remotely resembles or tastes like meat and (surprise!) they are fantastic anyway.

So this weekend I was standing in my kitchen deciding what to make for dinner this week and I thought of those veggie lettuce wraps and how easy it would be to recreate them at home. Seriously, could it be any easier to copy a recipe that is almost entirely raw?! How did I never think of this before?

The ingredients list is pretty simple. You’ll need your lettuce, of course. I used green leaf lettuce. I wasn’t sure what type of lettuce is normally used for lettuce wraps but green leaf lettuce resembled what you find in restaurants, with big soft green leaves. Then I picked my filler ingredients. I chose broccoli slaw with carrots for some crunch, bean sprouts, avocado and edamame hummus. Edamame hummus is AMAZING. Instead of using ground chickpeas (garbanzo beans) like regular hummus, it contains edamame or soy beans. It’s bright green, tasty and such a fun alternative to regular hummus. I also used chow mein noodles, which I boiled for 3 minutes then rinsed with cold water and tossed with sesasme oil and a dash of soy sauce. One of the many great things about this veggie meal is that it requires such minimal preparation; seriously, the ONLY thing I had to cook was the noodles and all the veggies even came ready to use except the avocado.

Lastly, just arrange all your ingredients on a platter and get ready to chow down! My lovely husband even whipped together a tasty dipping sauce (the Mr. worked at P.F. Chang’s back in the day and he’s great at whipping up tasty dipping sauces on the fly) and we also used some store-bought Thai peanut sauce for extra flavor.

Here’s the finished spread:

If you are looking for a cheap, easy vegetarian recipe for busy weeknights I totally recommend trying this one out! The best part is, it’s totally customizable. You can use whatever fillings you want. I thought about adding some roasted chickpeas or beans for a little extra protein, for example. The sky’s the limit! So get creative and have fun with it.

Leave a Reply

