My return to the great outdoors

19 Feb

Do you prefer running outside or running on a treadmill? For most people the answer is unanimously OUTSIDE, but winter (and sometimes summer) in the Midwest calls for extreme measures and can lead people to do crazy things like run 11 miles or more on a treadmill. In fact, I have been logging quite a bit of time on the treadmill lately marathon training. My training schedule calls for increasingly lengthy weekend runs and the past few weekends I’ve ran 9, 10 and 11 miles on the treadmill. It was actually not that bad (surprisingly!). I think I am just conditioned to spending a lot of time on the treadmill. Plus, I honestly think running is about 90% mental. Yes, running on the treadmill kind of sucks, but if you get on there and are bound and determined to run 9 miles it is completely doable.

Nonetheless, today my training schedule called for a 12 mile run and mother nature cooperated with a BEAUTIFUL day. It was 38 degrees, sunny and virtually no wind. Perfect running weather. I went to my favorite trail for the first time in months (I’m not an outdoor runner in the winter) and it felt AMAZING. There is just something so pleasurable about spending time on your favorite trail, enjoying the fresh air and the outdoors, not to mention all the ADORABLE dog eye candy :).

My loop on the trail is 4.2 miles and I did 3 laps so I ended up running 12.6 miles and felt GREAT. I honestly felt like I could have done another loop pretty easily, aside from the fact that my legs were getting tired and a little sore.

So, cheers to spring coming soon and beautiful February days! I hope you all enjoyed this beautiful winter day as much as I did.

One Response to “My return to the great outdoors”

  1. Amanda (@SemiHealthNut) February 27, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    Excited to run with you lady!! You will probably have to go on without me after mile 5 haha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

