Dairy-Free Manicotti

26 Jun

Confession: I love things stuffed with cheese. But while the fast food industry continues its endless quest for new ways to stuff cheese into things, I think we can all agree it’s best to limit one’s consumption of such foods. That’s why when I recently saw a recipe on Eat Live Run for manicotti made with a mixture of tofu, spinach and nutritional yeast instead of ricotta I knew I had to try it. And guess what? It was so good!

To make the “ricotta” filling, you just put a 16 oz. block of tofu that has been drained and patted dry into the bowl of your food processor. Then add a tablespoon of nutritional yeast. This is the important part; nutritional yeast has a “cheesy” quality that really makes this dish. If you can’t find nutritional yeast, don’t try this recipe! I was able to find it in the bulk containers at Whole Foods. Then add 2 garlic cloves, a tablespoon of olive oil, 1.5 tablespoons of salt and mix it all together. Add a package of frozen spinach that has been defrosted and drained of most of its moisture. Blend it all together again and your filling is ready!

As I was filling my shells I tasted a bite of the mixture and could not believe it! It tastes so creamy and flavorful. You truly would not believe this is tofu if you didn’t know better. This recipe is great for those watching their waistline or with lactose intolerance.

You can find the whole recipe here at Eat Live Run. Enjoy!

4 Responses to “Dairy-Free Manicotti”

  1. lucylox June 26, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    wow, great idea. I’ve been looking for a dairy-free pasta filling for ages…

    • aprilchristenson June 26, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

      Hi Lucy! You should definitely try this recipe then. It is astonishing how similar it is to the original!

  2. Amanda (@SemiHealthNut) June 29, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    Hmm I’ve heard about this nutritional yeast stuff…may have to give it a try!

    Also just wanted to tell you that even though you are a new-ish blogger, you are AWESOME at giving credit to sources and not copying the recipe and pasting it to your blog. It usually takes people awhile to figure that out. ;-)

    • aprilchristenson June 29, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

      Amanda, this was the first time I’ve used nutritional yeast but I have noticed some other bloggers using it here and there. I can see why, especially if you are trying to cut out cheese or if you’re lactose intolerant. It definitely is cheesy!

      And thanks! :) That habit is probably a by-product of being a journalism major haha. I think citing things has been drilled into my head.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

